Dorothy J. Sullivan Scholarship Program

Let us help you accomplish and exceed your educational goals.

The Dorothy J. Sullivan Scholarship program applauds the exemplary accomplishments of our members and supports education and training beyond high school. The program was created to recognize and honor the achievements of Dorothy J. Sullivan, former Dutch Point President and CEO and our first employee. Her support of higher education opportunities led to the formation of this scholarship. This program exemplifies the credit union's commitment to help students pursuing a college degree with their education and future.

Dutch Point Credit Union will award up to three $2,500 one-time scholarships to provide students with financial assistance toward post-secondary education.

Qualification Requirements

In order to qualify for this scholarship, the student must be the primary member of his or her own account at Dutch Point Credit Union. The account must be opened prior to submitting the application. Applicant's account must be in good standing. Must be a graduating or graduated High School student or equivalent and accepted as a full-time freshman to an accredited 2 or 4 year University or College.


Judging is based on academic achievement (GPA, scholastic honors and awards), extracurricular activities, work experience and the written essay. The essay is judged on content, creativity and clarity. Additionally, grammatical and spelling errors may disqualify your entry. Scholarship winners will be notified personally by June 15th of the award year. Non-winners will not be contacted. Winners may be asked to submit a photo for publication in our membership newsletter, website and social media. Awards are presented in the student's name.

Note: Financial need of the applicant and the income of the applicant's family are not factors considered in applicant evaluations. Winners are responsible for any income or taxes that may result.


We are pleased to announce the winners of the 2023 Dorothy J. Sullivan Scholarship program.

The 2023 scholarship recipients are:

  • Veronica McKenna
    • Wethersfield High School
    • Attending: Eastern Connecticut State University
  • Ryan Dieterle
    • Ellington High School
    • Attending: Worcester Polytechnic Institute
  • Alexa Overstreet
    • Windsor High School
    • Attending: Marquette University

Congratulations and good luck to all the recipients!

Discover the Dutch Point difference - we're here to educate, serve and delight you!
With your vision and our guidance, we can help you realize your dreams.

Give us a call, text us at 860-563-2617, schedule an appointment, or visit one of our Wethersfield, Newington, Berlin, Bloomfield, Niantic, or Middletown, CT locations to learn more.